Senate tasks FG to increase number of Law Schools to 12 campuses

Read Time:1 Minute, 25 Second

The Upper Chamber of the Na­tional Assembly has urged the federal government of Nigeria to increase the number of Cam­puses of the Nigerian Law School to 12.

The Senate said that at the minimum, the federal government should establish an additional one each in the six geopolitical zones of the country.

The call for the establishment of more campuses followed a Bill titled, “A Bill for an Act to amend the legal education (consolidated etc) Act by establishing the campuses for the Nigerian Law School, and for other related matters,” sponsored by Senator Smart Adeyemi (Kogi West).

In his lead debate on the Bill that passed second reading on the floor of the Senate, the lawmaker explained that the six additional campuses will cost N31.2 billion.

See also  Alleged Lekki Killings: Nigerian govt demands apology from CNN, Amnesty Int’l

At present Nigeria has six campuses of Law Schools.

Explaining where the six pro­posed additional campuses will be cited, Senator Adeyemi said that the one of North Central will be Kabba Law School campus, Kogi; North East, Maiduguri Law School Campus, Borno; North West, Argungu Law School Cam­pus, Kebbi.

Others are South East, Okija Law School Campus, Anambra; South-South, Orogun Law School Campus, Delta and South West, Ifaki Law School Campus, Ekiti.

The present law school cam­pusesareinAbuja, Lagos, Enugu, Adamawa, Kano and Bayelsa.

On the projected cost implication of establishing the campuses, the lawmaker explained that the construction of lecture halls for the six (6) campuses is N9,000,000,000.

He added that there will be utility vehicles like buses and Hilux provision for the six (6) campuses at N1,200,000,000; residential quarters for lecturers for the six(6) Campuses at the cost of N3, 000,000,000.

Leave a Comment Below