Okonjo Iweala and 4 others sail through first round for position of WTO DG

Read Time:1 Minute, 55 Second

Nigerian candidate contesting for the post of the Director-General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has sailed through to next stage as three other candidates  have fallen out of the race after failing to secure enough votes in the first rounds of voting.

In consultations with Amb. Walker, Amb. Dacio Castillo of Honduras and Amb. Harald Aspelund of Iceland, WTO members indicated that the five candidates who should advance are Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala of Nigeria, Yoo Myung-hee of the Republic of Korea, Amina C. Mohamed of Kenya, Mohammad Maziad Al-Tuwaijri of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Liam Fox of the United Kingdom.

Amb. Walker expressed his gratitude to all the candidates, including those who will not advance further. He said;

“Throughout the six days of consultations it was clear to us that the entire membership is both committed to and fully engaged in this process,”

“Members consider all (the candidates) highly qualified and respected individuals. I would also like to pay tribute to the dignified manner in which they, their delegations, and their Governments have conducted themselves in this process.

The process for selecting a new Director-General was triggered on 14 May when former Director-General Roberto Azevêdo informed WTO members he would be stepping down from his post one year before the expiry of his mandate. He subsequently left office on 31 August.

Amb. Walker immediately proceeded with the procedures for the appointment of the Director-General that were agreed under the 2002 guidelines. These guidelines require the General Council Chair to begin consultations with members on DG selection as soon as possible and “may establish expedited deadlines as necessary in consultation in Members”.

Below are the photos of the five contestants who sailed through the first round…

Liam Fox of the United Kingdom
Mohammad Maziad Al-Tuwaijri of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Amina C. Mohamed of Kenya
Yoo Myung-hee of the Republic of Korea
Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala of Nigeria

Leave a Comment Below